Daily Encourgement, Life in General

Beatitudes Post #2

And I am back!

I did make a promise to complete a series of articles on the 8 Beatitudes: 1 each week until they are complete.

Please just remember (and bear with me), this is only my understanding, as skewed as it may be because I am still learning. Learning, for me, will run the gamut of a lifetime because we are never to old to learn.

Today’s Beatitude

Blessed are they who mourn, for they shall be comforted.


Obviously to mourn something  is to emit feelings of sorrow at the loss. God does not like to see our pain. However, given that we are born with that ever-present, yet stubbornly active free will, the pain we endure is due, in part, to the decisions that we make, but also in part to the choices and decisions of others. It doesn’t matter the decision, though, because all decisions have outcomes, some favorable and some not.

Back to God doesn’t like to see our pain…..He doesn’t. As I have said many, many times, trusting in Him, putting our faith into something outside of ourselves opens that doorway that let’s God enter. He is there, always, to help us endure whatever we need to endure.

When a person trusts in God, in His abilities to heal our souls, then that is exactly what happens. He wants us to rely on Him during our times of sorrow. We are comforted now, every time we pray He hears. Every time we participate (for lack of a better word at the moment) in the Eucharist, we are admitting fault, remitting sin, and nourishing our souls (renewing our faith).

In essence, admitting our faults/errors with true sorrow or sadness that these errors or faults have offended God (mourn) shows true contrite and God shall comfort us. He knows what’s in our hearts, but loves when we come to Him in prayer.

Does that make sense or have I thoroughly confused you?

As always, comments are welcome, encouraged even. Please feel free to drop a few lines to contribute your own understanding.  Differing perspectives will surely lead to better understanding.

Tune in next week for #3 in the series.

Thanks for stopping by. I wish you well this week.


Daily Encourgement, Life in General

Beatitudes Post #1

As promised, the first post in the Beatitudes series.

Enjoy. Or not..?

Blessed are the poor in spirit for theirs is the kingdom of Heaven

Remember, I am newly back in the church so I have much to learn. Therefore, put stock where you will 🙂

I’ve seen many complete breakdowns of whatever given Bible verse….I mean, each word gets interpreted. With that said, maybe it does make sense as you get a deeper understanding of the verse. However, since I am no Bible genius and I believe interpretations are left to the reader.

So, I’m not going to school you on the Bible, but I will tell you how I understand the verse to mean. As I’ve said, please comment to further the understanding of the verse, but be kind. No judgments allowed here.

Poor in spirit?

What does that mean?


Financially broke?

Broken heart?

For my simple mind, I will say that this verse actually packs quite a punch (figuratively of course).

My understanding of the verse is that those who commits themselves humbly to serve the Lord (not just priests, monks, nuns, etc. etc), but all willing participants/parishioners in a Christian religion who will walk a fully devoted walk with the Lord to give all glory in this life to Him. In other words, giving glory to God in good times, bad times, sad times, and happy times. The poor in spirit humble themselves before the Lord, without an ounce pride, and minus attitude of deserving or entitlement, but with the belief that all graces received are given by God. For instance, if a person can sing, it is humbly accepted as a gift from God, absolutely nothing of oneself.

I kind of remind (see what I did there 🙂 ) myself of a child fresh in school….maybe.

Anywhoo, if you have something to add, just drop a line, or two, or ten. I will surely respond.

Tune in next week for the second in the series. Remember there are 8.

Thanks for stopping by.